Existing Bylaws Text:

Article Four, Delegates, Section 8: Terms of Office; Term Limits

A Delegate's term of office, shall be three (3) years, beginning in December. A Delegate may serve a maximum of two consecutive 3-year terms, and in no event more than six (6) consecutive years. A Delegate shall not be eligible for further service as a Delegate until one year has elapsed after the termination of the Delegate's second consecutive three-year term.

PROPOSED AMENDED TEXT:

Eliminated language erossed out.

Added language in *italic* and *bold*.

Article Four, Delegates, Section 8: Terms of Office; Term Limits

A Delegate's term of office, shall be three (3) years, beginning in December. A Delegate may serve a maximum of two consecutive 3-year terms, and in no event more than six (6) consecutive cumulative years without a one year (12 consecutive months) break. If a Delegate serves as elected or alternate for an incomplete year, those month/s of service must be counted towards the six years cumulative limit. Only a one year (12 consecutive months) lapse as Delegate will trigger the reset of the 6 years cumulative limit.

A Delegate shall not be eligible for further service as a Delegate until one year has elapsed after the termination of the Delegate's second consecutive three-year term.

The term six years cumulative limit is also applicable regardless of which station or stations a Delegate has served as its Delegate. For example, if a Delegate serves six years on the Local Station Board at any station, that Delegate may not serve at another station where the Delegate may be a member, until one year has elapsed after the six years cumulative limit. Also, if any Delegate serves any portion of a term or the cumulative six years limit at one station that time of service carries over as cumulative toward service as a Delegate at another station.

THE PROPOSED AMENDED LANGUAGE THEN WILL READ:

Article Four, Delegates, Section 8: Terms of Office; Term Limits

A Delegate's term of office, shall be three (3) years, beginning in December. A Delegate may serve a maximum of two consecutive 3-year terms, and in no event more than six (6) cumulative years without a one year (12 consecutive months) break. If a Delegate serves as elected or alternate for an incomplete year, those month/s of service must be counted towards the six years cumulative limit. Only a one year (12 consecutive months) lapse as Delegate will trigger the reset of the 6 years cumulative limit.

A Delegate shall not be eligible for further service as a Delegate until one year has elapsed after the termination of the Delegate's second consecutive three-year term.

The term six years cumulative limit is also applicable regardless of which station or stations a Delegate has served as its Delegate. For example, if a Delegate serves six years on the Local Station Board at any station, that Delegate may not serve at another station where the Delegate may be a member, until one year has elapsed after the six years cumulative limit. Also, if any

Delegate serves any portion of a term or the cumulative six years limit at one station that time of service carries over as cumulative toward service as a Delegate at another station.

Rationalization

This amendment will close the loophole that the actual language has on it. The loophole allows the eternal perpetuation of a Delegate on the Boards.

Recent review of Board Delegates terms (because of the 2015 election), leaded to the discovering of a loophole being used, at least in one case, allowing a Delegate to bypass the intention of the term limits clause in the Bylaws.

The term limits clause on Article Four, Delegates, Section 8: Terms of Office; Term Limits has the intention of limiting Delegates participation on the Boards without a whole year (12 month) lapse. The loophole allows some Delegates to stay on the Boards during decades with little lapses (as short as one month), in between terms.

Bylaws amendment proposed by the following Pacifica National Board of Directors:

Adriana Casenave KPFT
Brenda Medina KPFK
Lydia Brazon KPFK
Margy Wilkinson KPFA
Lawrence Reyes KPFK
Benito Diaz WPFW
Janet Kobren KPFA